Twisted Chef T:

This is a common story for those that are affected by Bipolar or any other mood disorders. It is possible to live a highly productive life.

Originally posted on Disorderly Chickadee:

Disclosing mental illness is complicated. So much depends on context that the only guides on how to go about disclosure are vague and full of mysterious caveats.

Well, I finally did it. I told my supervisor.

My stomach felt like this tortured bit of film, twisted and torqued due to my own clumsiness.

My stomach felt like this tortured bit of film, twisted and torqued due to my own clumsiness.

I had been thinking about it for awhile. Last month I hit a particularly bad patch for a week or so. My therapist actually asked if we should think about hospital admission or a leave of absence. He genuinely seemed to be at a loss for what to do with me and I couldn’t reason or decide for myself, so I’ve started working in earnest on a safety plan against future incapacitation.

But what if? I wouldn’t want a call from Mr. Chickadee saying that I’m in the psych ward to be the way that my supervisors…

View original 1,030 more words

Leave a Reply

